Chat is offline
Skip to main content

Accessibility


The Library is committed to providing equal access to all of our services and collections. Please contact us if you experience an accessibility barrier while using the library or have a suggestion on how we can make the library more accessible for you.

Please ask library staff if you need assistance:

  • locating books or other materials
  • printing, photocopying or scanning
  • locating accessible software on student PCs
  • using the accessibility features of our e-resources

 Accessible Collections

eBooks

The majority of our eBook databases meet or exceed Web Content Accessibility Guidelines and content can be read using screen reading software such as JAWS and NVDA.

  • Ebook Central is designed for patrons with accessibility needs, particularly the blind and visually impaired. Accessibility Mode is supported on laptops and desktops (not tablets and phones). View the Ebook Central Accessibility Guide for full documentation.
  • EBSCOhost eBooks are delivered on the EBSCOhost and EDS platforms, which are Section 508 and WCAG 2.0 Level A compliant, and for which VPATs are available. EBSCO eBooks also follow ARIA best practices and the recommendations of the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative to make content accessible to all users. View the EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide for full documentation.

Online Videos

The following online video resources have closed captioning options and in some cases, full transcripts:

Magazine/Journal Databases

  • EBSCOhost: EBSCOhost databases can be navigated with only a keyboard. As well, a text-to-speech reader application appears on magazine/journal article displays. Accessibility Information for EBSCO Interfaces
  • ProQuest: Much of the content within ProQuest is available in PDF format. Links will open in a new window on your computer to view documents in PDF format. Some PDFs have been created from scanned text and are therefore accessible to screen readers. Accessibility Information for Proquest Interfaces

 Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE)

About ACE

The Accessible Content E-Portal (ACE) contains alternative formats of the print book collections of participating Ontario colleges and universities.

Only current Mohawk students and faculty who have a verified perceptual disability can request access to ACE. Users can browse or search the library's collection of accessible material by logging into ACE with an assigned User or Admin Token which can be obtained by contacting Accessible Learning Services.

Source: ScholarsPortal Published on 8 Aug 2018

Adaptive Technology Workstations

All library computers are equipped with JAWS and ZoomText software. To learn more about adaptive technology and the services available at Mohawk College, please visit the Accessible Learning website.

College Links