Chat is offline
Skip to main content

Linking & Embedding Library Resources

Overview

The Library provides access to many course-related Journal, eBook and Video Databases. Most of the resources contained in these databases are not freely available on the Internet. This guide provides instructions on how to add these resources to eLearn.

Things to note:

  • The library has subscriptions to many types of databases and the steps for adding links may differ depending on the resource.
  • No login is required for on-campus access, but if you are off-campus, you will need to sign in with your 9-digit Staff ID and the password you currently use for eLearn and Webmail.
  • Database content is copyright-cleared. You do not need to contact the publisher to use it. 
  • Many of the databases offer resources in alternate formats (e.g. students can listen to articles) so linking to them can help students with different learning styles.
  • It is always a good idea to provide a full citation whenever you're linking to online material that takes a student outside of eLearn.  For one, it is a requirement of the Copyright Policy and as well, links can break. If students have the citation, they can find the material another way.

Add a Link in the Content Area

You can add a resource link in the content area of your course or within a page in the content area of your course.

How to add a resource link to the content area

1. Obtain a link from the library's databases (e.g. EBSCOhost, Films on Demand, etc.).

2.  Go to the linking information for the resource within this guide and format the link as instructed. 

3. Enter the Content area in your course.

4. Create a new module or go to an existing module.

5. Click on "New" and choose "Create a Link".

adding a link in elearn step 1

6. Add a title for the link.

7. Paste the link into the URL field.

8. Check the "Open as External Resource" checkbox.

9. Click the "Create" button.

adding a link in elearn step 2

Add a Link in a Course Page

How to add a resource link to a course page

1. Obtain a link from the library's databases (e.g. EBSCOhost, Films on Demand, etc.).

2.  Go to the linking information for the resource within this guide and format the link as instructed. 

3. Enter the Content area in your course.

4. Create a new module or go to an existing module.

4. Click on "New" and choose "Create a File".

add a file in elearn step 1

5. Click the "Insert Stuff" button in the top left.

add a file in elearn step 2

6. Select "Insert Link".

add a file in elearn step 3

7. Paste the link into the URL field and click "Next".

add a file in elearn step 4

8. Add a title for the link and click "Insert".

add a file in elearn step 5