Chat is offline
Skip to main content

Library Services for Faculty

The Mohawk College Library carefully selects items to support both student and faculty success. New content is selected by Liaison Librarians and in consultation with Faculty.

The library includes Open Educational Resources, including textbooks, in our selection processes.Open educational resources are scholarly works with a copyright license that allows them to be freely used and adapted, as needed. 

We welcome faculty requests provided they support our Collection Development Policy. Please note that the library does not generally purchase required textbooks for the collection. To request access to items held in other libraries, consider using out Interlbrary Loan Service. Interlibrary Loan is a free service that enables access to materials outside Mohawk College's Library Collection. 

Mohawk College Faculty and Instructors can request to have course-related resources put on reserve. Course reserves are identified as heavily used or required course materials.

Course reserves provide students with greater access to materials that support their learning objectives. These resources can be the property of the library or the instructor. 

The Library's Collection Development Policy states that required textbooks will not automatically be purchased by the Library, however instructor-owned copies can be put on reserve. 

Our reserve collection is available to students at each of our three campuses and the loan period for these items is at the instructor's discretion.

For more information on library reserves, please contact your Liaison Librarian.

The Mohawk College Library purchases access to print and electronic books, journals, magazines, videos and databases. 

In consultation with Faculty, librarians select resources for the collection. New high-quality content is acquired regularly, designed to support curriculum, course learning outcomes and student success, as well as faculty research priorities.

Among criteria used to make purchasing decisions, are relevance to curriculum, cost, and availability.

Please refer to our Collection Development Policy for more information.

Mohawk Library owns and licenses a wide variety of books, articles and streaming videos to support your courses and can be embedded and linked in eLearn. Please refer to our Linking & Embedding guide for details.

For information about finding and using images, please refer to the Images page on our website.

Loading ...