This is the "Home" page of the "Nutrition and Wellness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nutrition and Wellness  

Last Updated: Mar 30, 2012 URL: http://mohawkcollege.ca.libguides.com/nutrition Print Guide ShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
Nutrition through the lifecycle - IAHS
Uses current research to explain the nutritional foundations necessary for the growth, development, and normal functioning of individuals in each stage of the life span.

Cover Art
Nutrition: Science and applications - IAHS
Obesity has become a major health issue throughout the world, but many people just aren't aware of the proper nutrition needed in a diet. This book guides readers through the science of nutrition, providing real-world examples to show them how to apply this information to their own lives.

Cover Art
Nutrition essentials and diet therapy - IAHS
Coverage includes the latest developments in nutrition fundamentals, nutrition across the life span, nutritional management of chronic and acute illnesses, the latest DRI's, and expanded coverage of vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals and herbal remedies

Cover Art
Krause's food & nutrition therapy - IAHS
Recognized internationally as the most authoritative text on nutrition.

Cover Art
Health and wellness for life - BRANTFORD
Covers a wide range of health related topics including chapters on nutrition, weight management.

 
 

E-Books & Online Resources

Cover Art
Nutrition made incredibly easy!
Presents information on nutrition using a light-hearted style. Coverage includes the physiologic processes that transform food into energy, nutrient metabolism and recommended allowances, assessment of nutritional status, and the needs of special patient populations.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of nutrition and good health
More than 2,500 entries provide a one stop shop introduction to nutrition and health. Coverage includes food ingredients, vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; allergies; eating disorders; and much more.

Cover Art
Nutrition almanac
Topics covered include; food groups and food composition, nutrients, supplements, alternative therapies, and an overview specific health conditions related to nutrition.

Cover Art
Kozier & Erb's fundamentals of nursing: Concepts, process and practice
Chapter 47: Nutrition
Topics covered include; essential nutrients and their dietary sources, factors influencing nutrition, nutritional variations throughout the life cycle, essential components and purposes of nutritional assessment and nutritional screening.


Cover Art
Harrison's principles of internal medicine
Part 5 Nutrition Chapters inclue; Nutritional Requirements and Dietary Assessment, Vitamin and Trace Mineral Deficiency and Excess, Malnutrition and Nutritional Assessment,

 
 

Magazines Online

Cover Art
Nutrition Action Health Letter
Presents research and practical advice on nutrition, diet and related health issues.
Also available in print in the IAHS Library

Cover Art
Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter
Cover includes information on exercise & fitness, nutrition science, and consumer health.

Cover Art
Better Nutrition
Coverage includes: food nutrition, dietary concerns, supplements and other natural products.


 
 

Nutrition tools

Image retrieved from: http://www.flickr.com/photos/karimian/57925008/

Myplate - Livestrong.com
MyPlate provides the world's most expansive, accurate food database.

Leslie Beck, RD Health Tools
Includes; body mass calculator and waist/hip ratio calculator.

 
 

Leslie Beck, RD Healthy Eating RSS

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
Ask Us Collaboratory Mohawk College Library Subject Guides Home Page
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip