Last Updated: Nov 23, 2013
Electronic books are entire books that you can read online. Accessing from off-campus? Just log in with your MoCoMotion username & password.
NEW!! Assessment: An incredibly visual pocket guide
The full-color photos and illustrations are idealy suited for the visual learner. Brief, easy-to-read text presents must-know clinical concepts. Features best-practice assessment techniques in vivid detail and highlights pertinent information for special-age populations throughout.
Nurse's quick check: Signs & symptoms
This handbook presents succinct, bulleted, up-to-the-minute information on over 300 common signs and symptoms. It provides a rapid refresher on the key facts a nurse needs to understand: the variations, possible causes, and clinical significance of a sign or symptom.
Lippincott manual of nursing practice series: Assessment
This full-color quick-reference handbook covers all aspects of the patient history and physical examination to help you interpret assessment findings, recognize patient needs, and provide focused care. Information is presented in a succinct, highly bulleted format, with lists, tables, and flowcharts to highlight key facts.
Manual of nursing diagnosis
This text contains all the major Diagnoses listed by the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA)—standard diagnoses that are meant to create a standard plan of care for patients with any range of ailments. Gordon's functional health patters are also featured.
Assessment made incredibly easy!
Using light-hearted humor, this text provides the know-how nurses need to obtain pertinent health histories, perform physical examinations, and recognize normal and abnormal findings. Abundant full-colour illustrations, charts, memory joggers, and other special features help nurses master assessment techniques.
Also available in print
Physical examination and health assessment
Provides a comprehensive approach to health assessment from a Canadian perspective. Organized by body system the text presents the steps of a complete physical examination in the same logical sequence as performed in practice.
Canadian Jensen's nursing health assessment
Reflects Canadian best practices, standards of health promotion and screening guidelines (e.g., breast health, newborn and infant screenings), as well as Canadian standards of communication and documentation. Focus on health promotion topics. Each chapter also includes a threaded case study that requires critical thinking and diagnostic reasoning to analyze data, document, plan care, and communicate findings.
Pocket companion physical examination & health assessment
Summarizes essential assessment skills with colour pathology photos and illustrations, examination steps for each body system, normal versus abnormal findings, lifespan and cultural considerations, nursing diagnoses and summary checklists.
Nurses' handbook of health assessment
This full-color, pocket-sized handbook offers step-by-step guidance on every phase of the nursing assessment—for adults, children, and special populations. The focus is on what nurses need to know to assess clients: the health history, physical examination, normal and abnormal findings, nursing interventions, and nursing diagnoses.
Health assessment in nursing
A colorful, user-friendly introductory level health assessment text. Anatomy and physiology (structure & function) review begins each chapter. Clinical tips provide special considerations for assessment, including short cuts, variations in technique and alerts.
Health assessment made incredibly visual
Maximizes visual learning to help nurses master patient assessment. Hundreds of detailed and colorful photographs, diagrams, charts, and other visual aids guide nurses through each step of performing a head-to-toe physical examination and identifying normal and abnormal findings.
Pocket guide to cultural health assessment
This guide discusses the clinical implications of ethnic populations from over 170 countries with a wealth of information on each-from languages spoken to health care beliefs and practices to eye contact.
Manual of nursing diagnosis
Featuring Gordon's functional health patterns...directly from the author of the model!
Single user licence - be patient!
Series of online videos from Mosby's nursing video skills.
A new series of health assessment videos created by a Durham college nursing professor, June McDonald-Jenkins, who is also an author on the first Canadian edition of the Jarvis Physical examination and health assessment text!
- Assessment techniques
Four techniques of assessment: inspection, palpation, percussion, auscultation. Head, neck and eye exam.
- Cardiac 1
Heart and peripheral vascular assessment. Health history: Common chief complaints, prior cardiac surgical procedures, family health history. Inspection of heart and neck vessels. Normal findings. Auscultation. Inspection of jugular venous pressure.
- Cardiac 2
Assessment of the arterial pulses. Evaluation of the periphery.
- Gastrointestinal system
Anatomy and physiology; subjective data collection; objective assessment; auscultation; percussion; general tympany; palpation.
- Health history
Critical characteristics of a symptom. Biographical data. Source of history. Reason for seeking care. Present health or history of present illness. Past and family history. Review of body systems: general overall health state. Functional assessment. Mental status assessment. Objective data. Levels of consciousness.
- Neurologic system
Nervous system parts. Function of central nervous system. Function of peripheral nervous system. Autonomic nervous system. Types of neurological exams. Health history. Physical exam. Assess balance and co-ordination. Assess sensory function. Assess reflexes. Cranial nerves. Glasgow coma scale.
- Respiratory system
Anterior and posterior thoracic landmarks. Reference lines. Respirations. Common chief complaints. Inspection. Sputum. Palpation. Auscultation. Lateral chest. Adventitious sounds.
- Assessment review series: Reproductive and urinary systems
Demonstrates the techniques of reproductive and urinary assessment, including inspection and palpation of the genitourinary structures in the male and female patient, inspect and palpate the inguinal and femoral areas for hernias, and inspect and palpate the breasts and axillae. (1993)
- Assessment review series: Nervous system
Reviews nervous system functioning and provides a step-by-step guide to performing a neurological assessment accurately and completely. (1992)
- Assessment review series: Musculoskeletal system
Demonstrates the techniques of musculoskeletal assessment, including inspection and palpation of the joints, and assessment of the head and neck, the legs and spine, etc., and how to assess for range of motion. (1993)
- Assessment review series: Gastrointestinal
Demonstrates the techniques of gastrointestinal assessment, including inspection, auscultation, percussion, palpation of the abdomen, and palpation of the rectum and prostate gland. (1993)
- Assessment review series: Cardiac system
Demonstrates techniques of cardiac assessment including inspection, palpation, percussion and auscultation. Also demonstrates heart sounds S1 through S4, pericardial friction rub, and the murmur for aortic stenosis. (1992)
- Assessment review series: Vascular system
Demonstrates the performance of a vascular assessment, including inspection, palpation, and auscultation. Uses animated graphics to explain the patient's vascular system. (1993)