This is the "Speaking skills" page of the "ESL resources for students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ESL resources for students  

Last Updated: Jan 16, 2015 URL: http://mohawkcollege.ca.libguides.com/ESLresources Print Guide RSS Updates

Speaking skills Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books with CD's

On this page you'll find a few of our best resources to help with your English pronunciation. 

For a complete list, click here.

Cover Art
Fluent English
Two sound discs accompany this text.
Focuses on idiomatic expressions, phrasal verbs, practical vocabulary expansion, and grammar usage in context.

Cover Art
Clear speech from the start: Basic pronunciation and listening comprehension in North American English : Student's book
This text has three accompanying CD's
Focuses on how to recognize and produce language that will help you to understand speakers of English and be understood by them.

Cover Art
Instant immersion English grammar & pronunciation
Designed to introduce non-English speakers to proper articulation of vowels and consonants, correct syllable emphasis, and accurate vocal inflection.

Need help?

Listening to articles

You can listen to magazine articles in EBSCO databases.

Click here to watch a short tutorial. You will need audio.

  • MasterFILE Elite  Icon
    Indexes over 2300 general interest magazines and journals (1200 in full text). Includes more than 40 reference and travel books, an image collection, biographies and primary source documents. Covers most subjects including general reference, business, consumer health, general science, multi-cultural periodicals and much more.
  • Alt-HealthWatch  Icon
    Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full-text articles for 200 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  Icon
    Includes 300 full text, consumer health periodicals, full text for nearly 1100 health-related pamphlets, 135 health reference books, more than 4500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish), Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and also includes Clinical Pharmacology (drug information).

Websites

  • Sounds of English
    Pronunciation help on the sounds of English, using pictures/photographs and sounds.
  • ESL Cyber Listening Lab
    Many general listening exercises listed by levels (easy, medium, difficult) covering many everyday events such as dinner time, movie rentals, pizza delivery, phone messages and many more. There are also listening exercises for academic purposes.
  • 5 minute English
    Listen to the lesson and answer the questions that follow.
  • English as a Second Language Podcast
    The podcasts are free but there is a fee to access transcripts and guides. Podcast topics include business, health, and relationships.
  • TestYourVocab.com
    Determine you vocabulary level with this quick three-part test.

YouTube channels for learning English

11 Of The Best YouTube Channels For Learning English by Andrea Giordano

This list of 11 YouTube channels can help steer you toward some of the best ESL/ELL content YouTube has to offer.

1) British Council LearnEnglish

2) Anglo-Link

3) JenniferESL 

4) Rachel’s English

5) EnglishLessons4U 

6) Let’s Talk

7) ESL and Popular Culture

8) KidsTV123

9) Learn English 

10) Speak English with Steve Ford

11) ESL Basics 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip