Legal Dictionary
- Canadian legal words and phrasesThis source contains words and phrases judicially defined in Canadian court and tribunal decisions.
Directory
- Canadian Law ListProvides a comprehensive listing of Canadian lawyers and judges. Also includes law firm profiles, world-wide affiliations, personal biographical information and a detailed listing of government departments, plus related services to the legal profession.
Legislation
- Justice Laws (Canada)The online source of the consolidated Acts and regulations of Canada.
- Bills (Parliament of Canada)Full text of proposed legislation before the House of Commons and Senate and the progress of this legislation.
- e-Laws (Ontario)e-Laws provides access to official copies of Ontario's statutes and regulations.
- Legislative Assembly of OntarioFind Ontario bills, debates and MP info.
- CanLIISearch Federal and all Provincial Statutes and Regulations.
Caselaw
CanLII
Free online database that searches various Federal and Provincial Court cases.
The full text search is similar to Google - just enter your search terms in the box. Use "quotes" to search an exact phrase. The Scope search option lets you search for cases, legislation, or both.
The full text search is similar to Google - just enter your search terms in the box. Use "quotes" to search an exact phrase. The Scope search option lets you search for cases, legislation, or both.
Legal Research Websites
- Best guide to Canadian legal research: Legal research on the InternetWebsite created and maintained by a research lawyer in Vancouver, British Columbia.
- Doing legal research in Canada
- LawCentral CanadaLawCentral Canada is a portal or collection of links to law-related information and educational resources on justice and legal issues of interest to Canadians.
Courts
- Surpeme Court of CanadaHighest court in Canada.
This website contains information about the Supreme Court, Court decisions(cases) from 1948 to present, and links to legislation related to the Supreme Court of Canada. - Federal Court of CanadaNational trial court - deals with cases tried under Federal legislation.
This website contains information about the Federal Court, Court decisions(cases) from 1995 to present, and links to the Federal Court of Appeal. - Tax Court of CanadaDecisions from 1996 to present.
- Ontario Court of AppealJurisdiction over civil and criminal appeals from decisions of Ontario's two trial courts, the Superior Court of Justice and Ontario Court of Justice.
Decisions from 1999 to present. - Superior Court of Justice (Ontario)Jurisdiction over civil, criminal and family cases in Ontario.
- Ontario Court of JusticeA statutory court - deals with Ontario and Canadian laws.
Ministries
- Ontario GovernmentWebsite published by the Government of Ontario with information for residents, businesses and visitors.
- Ontario MinistriesLinks to all of the Government of Ontario's ministries pages.
- Government of CanadaWebsite published by the Government of Canada. Links to government services at the federal level.
- Departments and Agencies - CanadaLinks to all the federal government's departments and agencies.
Legislation - Health Sciences
- Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007, S.O. 2007, c. 8
- Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991, S.O. 1991, c. 18
- Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004, S.O. 2004, c. 3, Sched. A
- Mental Health Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.7
- Health Care Consent Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 2, Sched. A
- Substitute Decisions Act, 1992, S.O. 1992, c. 30
- Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.31
- Pharmacy Act, 1991, S.O. 1991, c. 36
- Drug and Pharmacies Regulation Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.4
- Drug Interchangeability and Dispensing Fee Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.23
- Narcotics Safety and Awareness Act, 2010, S.O. 2010, c. 22
- Ontario Drug Benefit Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. O.10
- Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (S.C. 1996, c. 19)
- Food and Drugs Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. F-27)
- Retirement Homes Act, 2010, S.O. 2010, c. 11
- Nursing Act, 1991, S.O. 1991, c. 32
Irwin Law e-Books
The essentials of Canadian law series
Each book, written by a leading Canadian authority in his or her field, provides clear, concise summaries and analyses of major topics. Covers areas of law such as criminal, employment, family, and many more.
Legal research and writing
This book explains the practical skills needed for print and online legal research and for legal writing.
Best Bet Databases
Quicklaw - (LexisNexis)
The most comprehensive legal database in Canada, including case law, legislation, with noting up capabilities, and legal commentary and journals.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA)
Indexes 600 primarily Canadian trade and business magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers and corporate reports (150 in full text).
LegalTrac
Indexes almost 1500 legal publications (over 100 in full text). Content is primarily American, however does contain some Canadian publications.
Canadian Legal Journals
Here is a listing of various legal journals and newsletters available in full-text online from the Mohawk College Library.
- Canadian Employment Law Today2004 to current. Published 24 times a year, this popular newsletter offers readers the most current news, legal cases, interpretive articles and legislation from the world of employment law — all in an easy-to-read format written in language everyone can understand.
- Canadian Family Law Quarterly2004/2005 to current. A national journal focusing upon topics of practical interest to the family law practitioner. Reviews in detail both judge-made and statutory changes in the law as they affect the practitioner.
- Canadian HR Reporter1992 to current. Offers readers the most current news, information on the latest trends and practices, expert advice, experiences and insights from HR practitioners, research and resources.
- Canadian Journal of Criminology and Criminal Justice2003 to current. A journal covering Canadian law enforcement and criminology.
- Canadian Journal of Family Law1987 to current. Provides a meeting place for academics and professionals from a variety of disciplines to discuss and debate family law issues.
- Canadian Journal of Women & the Law1985 to current. Provides comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage of legal issues affecting women. Devoted to exploring all areas of law, legal institutions, & legal practices from a woman-related perspective. Covers both civil law & common law.
- McGill Law Journal1992 to current.
- University of Toronto Law Journal1997 to current.
Legal Commentary
Halsbury's Laws of Canada is a a multi-volume encyclopedic treatment of Canadian law. Halsbury's is available as part of Quicklaw. Below is a sampling of the areas of law covered:
- Halsbury's laws of Canada: Criminal offences and defences- Investigative Powers and Enforcement
- Criminal Negligence and Recklessness
- Offences Involving Violence or Threats of Violence
- Property Offences
- Statutory and Common Law Defences - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Criminal procedure- Search and Seizure
- Apprehension, Bail and Compelling Appearance
- Trial Procedure
- Appeals
- Sentencing - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Police, security and emergencies- Provincial, regional and municipal police services
- Police powers, duties, independence and discretion
- Civil liability of police
- Private police and security - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Youth justice- Crimes By Children
- Right to Counsel
- Admissibility of Statements
- Sentencing
- Privacy Rights
- Crimes Against Children
- Offences
- Accommodation and Privacy of Child Witnesses
- Compensation for Child Victims - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Civil procedureOutlines, in a clear and straightforward manner, the framework for litigation in civil courts across Canada. Organized on a topical basis, this source is an especially useful resource for users who do not specialize in civil litigation.
- Halsbury's laws of Canada: Construction- Building contracts
- Performance and payment issues
- Construction liens
- Architects and engineers - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Employment- Legislative framework - employment standards legislation; human rights legislation
- Contract of employment - requirements; variation; frustration
- Obligations and duties of employer and employee
- Termination of the employment - resignation; dismissal for just cause; wrongful dismissal; constructive dismissal, - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Family- Constitutional framework
- Marriage
- Divorce
- Property claims on breakdown of relationships
- Matrimonial home
- Spousal support
- Domestic contracts - Halsbury's laws of Canada: Wills and estates
Legislation - Media & Entertainment
- Copyright Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-42)
- Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications CommissionParliament has given the CRTC the job of regulating and supervising the broadcasting and telecommunications systems in Canada. The CRTC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage.
- Broadcasting Act (S.C. 1991, c. 11)
- Privacy Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. P-21)
Legislation - Public Safety & Security
- Criminal Code (R.S.C., 1985, c. C-46)Links to Act and related Regulations
- Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
- Controlled Drugs and Substances Act (S.C. 1996, c. 19)Links to Act and related Regulations
- Evidence Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. E.23
- Firearms Act (S.C. 1995, c. 39)Links to Act and related Regulations
- Youth Criminal Justice Act (S.C. 2002, c. 1)Links to Act and related Regulations
- Police Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.15Links to Act and related Regulations
- Provincial Offences Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.33Links to Act and related Regulations
- Highway Traffic Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.8Links to Act and related Regulations
- Human Rights Code, R.S.O. 1990, c. H.19
Legislation - Engineering technology
- Building Code Act, 1992, S.O. 1992, c. 23Building code is a regulation under this Act
- Construction Lien Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.30






Loading...
