Books in the library
Aboriginal health in Canada: Historical, cultural, and epidemiological perspectives - (2nd ed.)
Aboriginal Health in Canada is about the complex web of physiological, psychological, spiritual, historical, sociological, cultural, economic, and environmental factors that contribute to health and disease patterns among the Aboriginal peoples of Canada.
Healing traditions: The mental health of Aboriginal peoples in Canada
The book is divided into four sections: an overview of the mental health of indigenous peoples; origins and representations of social suffering; transformations of identity and community; and traditional healing and mental health services.
Acting on what we know: Preventing youth suicide in First Nations
The purpose of the Advisory Group on Suicide Prevention was to review the existing research and formulate a series of practical, doable recommendations to help stem the tide of youth suicides occurring in First Nations communities across Canada. This report provides an examination of the issues the Group identified, from basic suicide data to specific factors affecting First Nations, and based on this, presents recommendations for action.
Where the pavement ends: Canada's aboriginal recovery movement and the urgent need for reconciliation
Where the Pavement Ends is filled with inspiring stories gathered from journalist Marie Wadden’s discussions with activists across Canada who are involved in the Aboriginal healing movement.
Online books and reports
- Aboriginal health in Canada: Historical, cultural, and epidemiological perspectives (2nd ed.)Preview of this book is available on Google Books.
- First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey (RHS) 2002/03: The peoples' reportThe First Nations Regional Longitudinal Health Survey (commonly abbreviated to RHS) is the only First Nations governed, national health survey in Canada. It is longitudinal in nature and collects information based on both Western and traditional understandings of health and wellbeing. It is considered the most comprehensive study of First Nations health and living conditions in Canada.
- Prevention of the harmful effects of substance use among Aboriginal peoples: An initial review of the research literatureFrom the Centre for Addiction Research of BC.
- The health of the off-reserve Aboriginal populationStatistics Canada, Health Reports (supplement) Vol. 13, 2002.
Key search terms
Here is a list of some Key Terms related to Aboriginal Health. Use these to zero in on relevant items in the Mohawk College Library collections.
Search the catalogue

Looking for more books? Use this to search the Mohawk College Library catalogue.
Databases
Culture Vision
Provides reports on such topics as communication, family patterns, diet and nutrition and treatment protocols.
Proquest Nursing and Allied Health Source
This database indexes over 650 magazines and journals in nursing and allied health fields (almost 600 in full text).
Canadian Reference Centre
Indexes Canadian and international magazines, newspapers, and reference books.
Web resources
- Aboriginal Canada PortalThe Aboriginal Canada Portal (ACP) is your single window to First Nations, Inuit and Métis on-line resources, contacts, information, and government programs and services in Canada.
- National Aboriginal Health OrganizationThe National Aboriginal Health Organization is a knowledge based organization that excels in the advancement and promotion of health and well-being of all First Nations, Inuit and Métis individuals, families and communities.
- Aboriginal health and cultural diversity online glossaryCollege of Nursing, University of Saskatchewan
- Aboriginal Sexual HealthRun by the SOGC's Aboriginal Health Initiative (AHI), this site aims to be a unique and evolving source of information and materials supporting improved health among First Nations, Inuit and Métis women. Our goal is to present an online space through which we can better interact with health care professionals, our partners, and Aboriginal women, their families and communities.
- Aboriginal Healing Foundation - Research SeriesA series of research reports which address the physical and sexual abuses suffered in Canada’s Indian Residential School System.
- Aboriginal healthLinks to reports and organizations deaing with various Canadian Aboriginal health issues.
From the Canadian Virtual Health Library (a one-stop virtual clearinghouse of high quality, organized and current health information resources)
Ontario government info search
Use this box to search for reports and documents from the Government of Ontario.
Online videos
- Part 1: Cultural diversityFrom the Cultural competence video series. Begins by showing the rapidly-changing cultural environment in the modern world. The many varied aspects of culture, including age, race, religion, ethnicity, gender, disability, and socioeconomic factors are delineated. Self-assessment as the first step in developing cultural competence is discussed. The concept of proxemics, or relative distances maintained during human interactions, is defined and demonstrated.
- Part 2: Becoming culturally competentFrom the Cultural competence video series. Techniques to avoid generalization of cultural traits are discussed, as are cultural influences on attitudes toward family roles, modesty, nutrition, birthing and parenting, death and dying, and alternative health care practices.
- Part 3: Assessment challenges in a multicultural environmentFrom the Cultural competence video series. Included are discussions and demonstrations of assessing cyanosis in people of color and discerning accidental and non-accidental injury vs. normal variations in skin tone. Techniques for interviewing individuals with cognitive and sensory impairments, and the use of translators when language barriers exist are also discussed and demonstrated. Techniques for establishing trust and rapport are outlined.
- Stolen children: Truth and reconciliation
Explores the impact of residential schools on former students and the larger community, presenting ideas for what more can be done to address this painful chapter in Canada's history.







Loading...
